compression standards for images

Image format file format compression standards is a methods for reducing the data used to encode digital image file content, these standards reduce the Image format file format for storing.

Some examples of Image file format standard are:

T i f f:

  • TIFF stands for  tag image file format.
  • TIFF may or may not be compressed using lossless compression technique.
  • TIFF extension is . tiff.
  • Size is largest in JPEG



Lossless compression

Not compatible with many browsers

High image quality

Requires more storage space


  • It stands for for joint photographic expert group.
  • JPG is the most popular image format..
  • JPG use lossy compression technique
  • JPG Control 24 colours
  • JPG smaller than g i f file format
  • Extension is.jpg



High compatibility

Lossy compression

Widespread use

Doesn’t support transparencies and animations


  • GIf stands for graphics interchange format
  • GIF loss compression technique
  • File size is larger
  • GIF support 8 bit colour
  • Image can be animated
  • GIF exension is .gif



Lossless compression

Limited choice of colors

Animations are possible

Not  suited for images with a broad range of colors


  •  stands for portable network graphics
  • PNG use lossless compression technique
  • File size smaller than JPEG
  • Extension is.png



Lossless compressions

Not suitable for print

Full color spectrum

Requires more memory space

some other image file standad are:  

SVG: Scalable Vector Graphics,PDF: Portable Document Format,PSD: Photoshop Document
error: Content is protected !!